Mission Impossible: The Hunt Continues

Painful like stepping on Legos. Try it. I dare you!

The abovementioned headline was suggested to me by Mr. A, even as we were going through one of the two recent rejection emails. I guess finding humor in our plight is our way of dealing with it.

This time, as opposed to the last time, the rejections have come in faster.

All the agents out there who have rejected me…are you guys having a race or something? Like where you compete as to who would be the fastest in rejection? If yes, what is the prize? At least I could give it away to the winner…considering I practically head this category.

Just kidding folks! Again…damsel-using-humor-to-ward-off-distress. That could be the new savior instead of the stereotyped Prince. And why not? We could all use humor in our lives. Princes…? Meh…! Unless you are Prince Harry to Meghan Markle!

An aspect of adult life I have learned is that we, as adults, try to win the who-is-worse category consistently. For example: I called a school-time friend yesterday. Video-called her. She disconnected and voice-called me back. When I asked why, she said that she is still in her PJ’s, is munching on some chickpea salad, and that her hair has turned from wavy to curly which she has shamelessly left uncombed.

Oh…by the way…I find the acronym for Pajamas and Poor Jokes, both being PJ’s a bit suspicious. Don’t you?

I told her to not worry because I wasn’t looking all put together either. That started a light bickering on both ends with the constant use of ‘I highly doubt that!’ inserted assertively by both. It only ended when we realized that for the two of us, the other will always be the better one. So honestly, we would end up in a confusing loop of self-deprecation, which, on normal days, we both highly condemn. Yesterday wasn’t a normal day because she had called me back. She never calls. She has a problem with ‘picking up the phone and dialing the number’: in her own words.

In my words: She has a Problem.

We also noticed today a weird conversation that had happened on LinkedIn a couple years back. The screenshot has been posted for your entertainment. Yeah…yeah…bring it on…we both know we are a little weird.

We also have this notion that a lot of people don’t like us, but since they don’t know what to do with us after making an acquaintance, they just let us circle around.

Presenting to you …:drumroll please:… The Conversation on LinkedIn.

Nope. You got it wrong. We aren’t underconfident women. We are quite confident even in our errors. Come to think of it…that might be one of the reasons for the aforesaid conclusion. One, I said. Do not be jubilant. There are plenty of others as well, most of them we can’t make sense of.

Did you think I would go on a full-blown rant about how much people hate us?

I said I would poke fun at myself. Not shred mine and others’ reputation. Man, are you people gossip lovers!

Anyway…as I type this…I think of the manuscripts in my room. Lying bound in a purple folder on top of the storage bench. I wonder how much time would they take to magically transfer into best-seller books…the ones who would enchant the agents, then the publishers, then the readers so much that they would talk of nothing else, but the plot, the characters, the aura of the story…

Damn do I live in a world of my own!

Well…what else to say…except that the Hunt will continue. (:MI theme plays in the background:)

Mission Impossible: whatever-number-it-is. This time me instead of Tom Cruise, jumping from one rejection to the other, chased by Time…the only way to survive is to find the agent as soon as possible, and press the Found button so the rest vanish and all is well. That isn’t what the plot of the franchise is all about, is it?

Fans of the franchise…you have every right to be mad at me. I seemed to have mixed MI and Temple Run. In my defense: every action thriller has the same base plot with a few tweaks here and there. And please, no action movie recommendations. The only recommendation I am taking right now are the Book Agent ones.

So unless you have something better to offer…like a book deal…or a three book contract or something…or a coronavirus vaccine + a week-long trip to Hawaii package (all expenses paid, by the way)…please feel free to read, laugh at me, and then at yourself because you did take out the time to read a bunch of unrelated rants from on overhyped-mind-in-the-middle-of-the-night (my night by the way), comment abundantly below, share with all to relate their eccentricities and raise my blog stats higher.

See…? Like Monica (F.R.I.E.N.D.S.) had almost become a pro at advertising Mockolate, so have I in promoting myself.

We all must start somewhere….

Also, I hope my writings don’t end like Mockolate.

Ciao!

8 thoughts on “Mission Impossible: The Hunt Continues

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started